Mayor of Bridgwater

Cllr Diogo Rodrigues, Mayor of Bridgwater

This years Mayor of Bridgwater is Dunwear North ward Town Councillor Diogo Rodrigues.

Diogo Rodrigues is 28 years old , born on the Portuguese island of Madeira, brought up in London. Worked in the restaurant industry in Southend and as an English teacher in an orphanage in Cambodia before settling in Bridgwater.

He went to school in Southend gaining qualifications in Tourism Management and Access to Teaching and  a lot of experience working in his parents’ restaurant.

Moved to Bridgwater after having fallen in love with the area after visiting it so many times.

A member of the Labour Party ,Diogo says “ I believe that it is the only party which stands up for hard-working people who want a fairer society in which everyone has a decent chance to prosper.”

Diogo achieved another first for Bridgwater by becoming the first Portuguese born Mayor of the town in 2018

For information about the role of Mayor of Bridgwater click here.


1972+73 Saunders (Lab)  -Last Borough Mayor

1974 Charles Tester (Lab) – First Charter Trustee Mayor

1975 Trevor Donaldson (Con)

1976 Joe Ayres (Lab)

1977 Margaret Rees (Con)

Bridgwater Council Chamber probably c. 1952.

1978 Mick Briscombe (Lab)

1979 Bill Chedgey (Lab)

1980 Mike Needs (Con)

1981 Ken Richards (Lab)

1982 Joe Ayres (Lab)

1983 Mike Cresswell (Con)

1984 Jenny Briscombe (Lab)

1985 Mary Tustian (Lab)

1986 Julie Hooper (Con)

1987 Ken Richards (Lab)

1988 Trevor Donaldson (Con)

1989 Joe Ayres (Trad Lab)

1990 Mike Cresswell (Con)

1991 Ken Richards (Lab)

1992 David Baker (Lib Dem)

Oscar Coates becomes Mayor May 23rd 1957

1993 John Turner (Lab)

1994 Mick Briscombe (Lab)

1995 Trevor Donaldson (Con)

1996 Ken Parkin (Lab)

1997 Adrian Moore (Lab)

1998 Bill Munn (Lab)

1999 Roger Lavers (Lab)

2000 David Busby (Lab)

2001 Ken Richards (Lab)

2002 Adrian Moore (Lab) Last Charter Trustee Mayor

2003 Adrian Moore (Lab) -1st TOWN Mayor

Mayor and Bear.

2004 Bill Munn (Lab)

2005 Bill Monteith (Lab)

2006 Pat Parker (Lab)

2007 Philip Smeed (Con)

2008 Graham Granter (Lab)

2009 Ken Richards (Lab)

2010 Bill Monteith (Lab)

2011 Pat Parker (Lab)

2012 Graham Granter (Lab)

2013 Dave Loveridge (Lab)

2014 Steve Austen (Lab)

2015 Leigh Redman (Lab)

2016 Alex Glassford (Lab)

2017 Graham Granter (Lab)

2018 Diogo Rodrigues (Lab)