Nominations for Bridgwater Cup Now Open

The Bridgwater Cup- nominations are now open

Do you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their work trying to make Bridgwater  a better place during the past 12 months ? Well, if so then why not nominate them for the Bridgwater Cup!  The prestigious cup, which was made in London in 1768, is made of silver gilt and is awarded each year by Bridgwater Town Council  to someone that their fellow townspeople think has made a significant contribution to the life of the town. To nominate individuals or organisations, all you need to do is submit a suggestion with a short paragraph saying your reasons and then either drop it in to Judi Fisher at the Town Hall Office or  emailing it to  or sending an envelope clearly marked ‘The Bridgwater Cup- Nominations, Confidential’ to  Judi Fisher, Bridgwater Town Council, Town Hall, High Street, Bridgwater, TA6 3AS.

The deadline for 2019-20 entries is February 27th, 2020 and the decision will be taken at the Full Town Council meeting of Thursday March 5th.

Previous winners of the cup have been

Mike Slade
Mike Slade, 2017 winner, with Mayor Graham Granter

2018 Kelly Llewellyn

2017 Mike Slade

2016 Kim Dodden

2015 Jacqueline Manning

2014 Keith Barnard

2013 Keith and Margaret Robinson

2012 Chris Kettle

2011 Mary Carter

Dr Peter Cattermole pictured receiving the Bridgwater Cup from Ken & Margo Richards.

2010 Bryan Gillard

2009 Peter Cattermole

2008 Janet Harvey

2007 Eileen Haysham

2006 Judith Allen

2005 Eric Shackleford

2004 Mollie Gay

2003 Amy Crockford

Jacqueline Manning 2015 winner with mayor Leigh Redman

2002 George and Maureen Hudson

2001 Alan King

2000 Bob Pitman

1999 Fred and Doris Snow

1998 Mary Carter

1997 June Trzos

1996 Roger Evans

1995 Violet Cato

Kim Dodden 2016 winner with Mayor Alex Glassford

1994 Bill Biffen

1993 Douglas Moles

1992 Joan Chester

1991 Reginald Browning

1990 Joan Atkin

1989 Bill Chedgey